The Tiny Stone on top of an arch

My fellow blocks

laugh at me

mock my size

 

I lay tucked in between

giant boulders

of creamy descent

 

Humble in manner

I can easily disappear

into the beauty that surrounds me

 

Cast me in iron,

or mould me in stone

I am there, somewhere

 

I have seen monarchs

lie in turgid mausoleums

incense fading into fungus

 

I know my secret

so do a few more

how i came to be

 

And, yet, when you look

up at that magnificent arch

you are bewildered

 

why so small a specimen

like me,

perches atop

 

So, let me unfold

my mystery

educate block and blockhead alike

 

that i stand guard to

the peaceful sleep of my beloved king

and his other stalwart blocks

 

in my humble gauntness

I am the wedge that divides

and holds,

 

What is mine cannot be yours!